It’s 2014 and the Squirrels are back!

16

January 2, 2014 by Kira Lyn Blue

squirrel-6I know, I know it’s been months and months since you’ve heard from me and the ninja squirrels. You try keeping these furry freaks entertained for just five minutes and you’ll need to hibernate awhile, too!

Image Credit: catmacros.wordpress.com

Image Credit: catmacros.wordpress.com

The problem with squirrels (and Kiras, for that matter) is that they are easily distracted by bright, shiny, new endeavors. I actually chose my pen name because kira-kira means sparkling, glittery, or shiny in Japanese. And, yes, I have Shiny Syndrome something awful.

Writing Updates

Have no fear, I am still writing and Jac’s book is still in development. Although I keep getting sidetracked by the squirrels’ demands that I write a prequel set in Jac’s world that focuses on the Hoosier Pack, the werewolves that end up playing a major role in Jac’s story. The official line is that the squirrels hid my laptop charger until I ceded to their demands to work on the prequel. Yeah, that’s it. I definitely haven’t been bogged down writing dozens of alternate opening chapters for the new story. Nope, not me. Ooh! Sample coming soon to a blog near you!

But wait, there’s more!

You see, The Husband is an actor by trade, and about the time I vanished last year he got into narrating audiobooks professionally. At first I was his just his audio technician and quality control expert, but then I was struck by some madness to give it a shot myself. I recorded a sample, posted it on the Audiobook Creation Exchange, and WHAMMO! Twenty-four hours later I had contracts for two books.

So, allow me to tear of my Ninja Squirrel Wrangler mask and reveal my not-so-mild-mannered alter-ego: Kelly Self, Professional Audiobook Narrator!

kelly_acx

So, the last several months have been a whirlwind developing our new business, setting up our recording studio, mastering the art of mastering, and reading aloud for fun and profit! It’s actually very cool, beyond awesome, epic as squirrels on snowboards, and… well, I can’t top squirrels on snowboards. But it has also been very, very busy.

At any rate, my new year’s resolution is to spend more time writing now that our audiobook production gig is humming along, and that does include blogging.

This blog will remain dedicated to all things writing and ninja squirrels, although my alter-egos may battle it out and allow me to post information about narration projects here if the books are related to fantasy, urban fantasy, or anything paranormal. Please stop by my other site Narration by Self for more information on my audiobooks!

And Happy New Years, everyone!

16 thoughts on “It’s 2014 and the Squirrels are back!

  1. YAY! I thought you had gotten kidnapped by a gang of samurai possums who were jealous of your ninja squirrels….

    • You heard about that, did you? Let’s just be clear that those samurai possums are very, very scary. I could have fought them off, sure, but that would have required getting close and, well, they smell. So, I had to wait for the cavalry to rescue me. Which was the least the squirrels could do after holding my laptop charger hostage…

  2. MishaBurnett says:

    Hey there! I missed you. ACX is awesome, I just had my second book released on audio.

  3. Happy New Year and welcome back. That’s really cool with the audiobooks. Good luck with everything.

  4. Kate Sparkes says:

    Glad to have you back! And the squirrels, of course.

  5. Congrats on the new gig! I’d never be able to narrate an audiobook, I’d stop all the time to try to edit it.

    • There’s another one of my favorite authors! I’m so glad to see your second book is out now, too. (AFK to download! Ok, I’m back!)

      You know, I would actually highly recommend reading aloud as part of the editing process, whether you do it yourself or rope a friend into doing it for you so you can just listen. It really helps catch awkwardly worded sentences that might otherwise look fine on paper. It also helps bring attention to certain phrases or words that are repetitive. Those sneaky suckers are much easier to find and eliminate through reading aloud.

      • Oh, I do that, but there’s an endless amount of tweaking one can do to a written work and I inevitably go ‘oh maybe I should change that’ even when stuff flows well. The red pen never rests!

        And listening to someone else read my stuff makes me want to hide under the bed. I need to toughen up!

      • I know that feeling and I sympathize! I mean you ARE talking to the girl who’s so edit happy she can’t get her first book finalized…

        But, your book was fantastic. I don’t think it’s about toughening up in your case but being less self-critical (advice I should probably redirect at myself, hmmmm.)

      • Very true. Hey, if you ever need another eye on it (or another red pen), I’m happy to help — even if that help means shouting STOP!

  6. Christopher says:

    Oh thank goodness you’re back! I thought maybe you’d gone exploring and found the actual edge of the earth or something. Maybe you’d fallen off and wouldn’t be coming back.
    Glad to hear you were getting things done. Welcome back, and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

Click to have the chaos sent right to your email!

Join 399 other followers

Ninja Squirrel Chasers!

I'm a sub-red magic drafter!

Take the quiz at Brent Weeks.com

