The Squirrelies!

31

June 18, 2013 by Kira Lyn Blue

Readers and Blogizens, we here at KLB are proud to present…

squirrel_oscarThe Squirrelies!

What are The Squirrelies? I’m so glad you asked. The Squirrelies are the epic awards of blogging awesomitude where KLB and the Ninja Squirrels take the opportunity to recognize the contributions of our fellow bloggers and thank those who have recognized us.

The Squirrelies are absolutely not in any way, shape, or fashion my cheap attempt to combine seven blogging awards into one post. I would never, ever do such a thing.

The squirrels might, though.

No, seriously, I think blogging awards are awesome. They are a fantastic way to help build community and expand our readership between like-minded bloggers and their followers while at the same time showing bloggers we enjoy how much we appreciate them. Unfortunately, they seem to come in packs. Which isn’t a bad thing, but when you have to nominate 12-15 bloggers for a handful of different awards, things tend to get a bit sticky.

However, I don’t want to ignore the awards my fellow bloggers so thoughtfully gave me and I do want to pass the love along to others. Hence, The Squirrelies.

The Squirrel Appreciation Award

The furballs and I can’t tell you how much we appreciate the bloggers who have nominated us for blogging awards.

We have just one thing to say:

unworthy squirrel

It is an honor to be recognized by our fellow blogizens, and such honor should be returned. Today, we would like to award three special bloggers with our thanks:

1. Melissa Janda– The Almighty Squirrel bless Melissa and her generosity with blogging awards. In the past couple of months, she nominated KLB for four. Yep, four: The Best Moment Award, Shine On and Dragon’s Loyalty, and the Wonderful Team Member Readership.

Melissa’s blog is definitely one you should check out. She was nominated for all these awards herself and I can tell you she deserves them. Melissa not only has wonderful posts about writing, but is truly a team player in the blogging world helping connect fellow authors. I have found several books and blogs that I adore through her blog and I bet you will, too.

2. Julian Froment Julian, who nominated us for the Sunshine Award, is another power team member in the blogosphere, generously sharing posts from other bloggers that piqued his interest. His own posts show a unique perspective into the world of reading and writing and life in general. One of my favorites is Recapturing that Inner Child.

3. Fiction Favorites John, who nominated us for the Liebster Award, is hard to categorize, but his posts are always interesting (as is his post titling convention). If you haven’t checked out his blog before, I recommend starting here: Clumsy Dialog is as Clumsy Dialog Does.

Thank you Melissa, Julian, and John for nominating KLB and the squirrels for awards. You all rock!

squirrel with sunglassesSquirrel Spotlight Awards

In honor of the awards sent our way, KLB and the squirrels would like to shine a spotlight on   the bloggers whose posts we anxiously look forward to seeing appear in our inbox.

Evil Squirrel’s Nest- It would be a grievous oversight if we did not include Evil Squirrel’s Nest in our Spotlight, and not just because we have an extreme bias for squirrel-centric blogs. (Although, we do.) Head on over to ESN for squirrel comics, Saturday Squirrel pics, and the always awesome Flashback Friday (which happened on Monday this week) where ESN takes us back to the manic marketing tactics of the 80’s.

The Urban Book Thief- TUBT is one of my favorite book review blogs because her book tastes are so similar to mine, so I look forward to seeing what she’s reading and rating to help me decide which book/series I’ll read next. If you’re an Urban Fantasy or Paranormal Romance Fan, TUBT is a blog you should definitely be following!

Creative Writing with the Crimson League Victoria Grefer’s blog always has great insights and tips for writers… on a DAILY basis. I don’t know how she manages it, but she does. That might explain her following of 30k readers! So, you don’t just have to take my word on her awesomeness, head on over and see what she has to say. A great post to start with is How to read on a deeper level by comparing your favorite works of art: all authors need this skill.

Legends of Windermere I love Charles’s blog which has a wide variety of posts from poetry, excerpts from his own novels, and reblogs from fellow bloggers and authors. I can always count on whatever he links to be of interest AND I look forward to his comments on my blog. Discussion and discourse FTW! Unseen Friends is the post to start with on his blog.

Sairyou.me Daniel is yet another blogger whose comments I look forward to seeing on my blog. I also really enjoy his blog posts which tend to take unique perspectives and push me to think deeper about common topics. The Value of Blog Comments and Serendipity to Creativity is one of my all-time favorite posts of his.

Congratulations Squirrel Spotlight Award Winners and thank you for all that you contribute to the blogosphere! 

There are many more I would like to nominate, but that just means I can make this into a regular feature! So, stay-tuned squirrel fans there’s more awesomeness to come in future weeks.

 

31 thoughts on “The Squirrelies!

  1. Thanks for the spotlight. Always enjoy the praise from squirrels. 😀

  2. Reblogged this on Legends of Windemere and commented:
    Check out all the winners of the Squirrelies and who is worthy of the squirrels’ attention.

  3. thanks a bunch, Kira! I’m honored, and I’m super excited you find my blog useful and enjoyable 🙂

  4. Kate Sparkes says:

    Awesome, I’m now following the Evil Squirrel’s nest. 🙂

    Your posts, however, aren’t showing up in my reader, so I’m unfollowing you. UNFOLLOWING!

    …and then re-following. Wish me luck…

    • Noooooo! Don’t leave us! What can I do to make it better? Singing Squirrel-gram?

      In all seriousness, I hope the refollow works. Looks like WP is making changes, so bugs are inevitable. Just hope they fix things soon.

      • Kate Sparkes says:

        Yes, it’s true. I left you. But then I came running back, and there was a joyful reunion filled with squirrels and… more squirrels… it was beautiful. How did you miss that? 😉

        We’ll see if it works…

        (that song is both entertaining and disgusting!)

      • I did thanks to that flashing orange button up in the corner 🙂

        Oh and it was either that song or this one:

  5. Wow. Today is probably the best day in my blogging career. ‘Elated’ is probably the best word to describe it. First The Parasite Guy’s shout-out, and now this! Thank you so much, Kira, for your kind words and the lovely recommendation. I’m truly honored. 🙂

  6. melissajanda says:

    Thanks for the kind words Kira! That post of Julian’s is my favorite of his too and Daniel is always stirring up those deep thoughts! I haven’t been able to look at a squirrel the same since coming across your blog. The other day my daughter pointed to a squirrel and I actually thought, “Looks like one of Kira’s.” 🙂

  7. L. Marie says:

    The Squirrelies!!!!! Love them!!!! I especially love the Squirrel Spotlight Awards.

  8. Reblogged this on Fiction Favorites and commented:
    So humble to be honored with a Squirrel Appreciation Award . Thank you Kira. Squirrel is as Squirrel Does

  9. Kira, thank you so much for the Squirrel Appreciation Award. Squirrel is as Squirrel Does. You are the best!!!!!

  10. aFrankAngle says:

    First time visitor via John Howell …. and this is priceless.

  11. sstamm625 says:

    Reblogged this on Reading, Writing, and Rambling and commented:
    Many more blogs to follow…

  12. OMG! This is a dream come true! My very own Squirrely! Thank you very much for this honor! I want to recognize this post tomorrow, and if you don’t mind, include the picture of the squirrel holding the Oscar in my sidebar as the official badge for accepting this prestigious award!

    Squirrel fanatics are awesome!!! 🙂

  13. 1WriteWay says:

    This is hilarious!

  14. Your posts never fail to make me laugh out loud Kira. You are a fab writer and thoroughly deserving of all of the attention. Thanks for the special mention *outrageous gushing noise commences* – you even gave me an acronym of my very own *further gushing* TUBT – I shall claim it for my squirrely self and we shall all join hands and dance with glee forever more.

  15. […] speaking of Kira, she composed her own awards post yesterday called The Squirelies, which was led off with this picture which would make a totally adorable badge for any […]

  16. Thank you so much for the mention. I really appreciate it.

  17. Rika Ashton says:

    Love this blog post – so funny! (Even though I’m deathly afraid of ninja squirrels, or anything that pops out of bushes). 😛

Leave a Reply

Click to have the chaos sent right to your email!

Join 398 other followers

Ninja Squirrel Chasers!

I'm a sub-red magic drafter!

Take the quiz at Brent Weeks.com

