Flawed on Friday

16

June 14, 2013 by Kira Lyn Blue

The Muse is in a mood. Between yesterday’s post on dirty little secrets, the flawed protagonists I’ve been reading about lately, and working on my own WIP… I somehow ended up on a YouTube journey of related music videos.

5. Monster by Skillet

Feeling like a monster?

4. Dirt in my Pocket by Joe Bonamassa

What’s on your conscience?

3. Guilty Filthy Soul by AWOLNATION

2. Down with the Sickness by Disturbed

The pinnacle of inner demons songs, if you ask me.

1. Waiting for the End by Linkin Park

I love the juxtaposition of soul-baring lyrics mourning one’s past against the rap track claiming it’s not an end or a beginning. Grief and hope in one song.

Have any other suggestions for The Muse?

Special thanks to Maggie Madly Writing for inspiring today’s post with her The Friday Five.

16 thoughts on “Flawed on Friday

  1. Down with the Sickness is legendary by now. Just got into Skillet recently too.

  2. cptam1947 says:

    I have always loved Disturbed, but the rest I have never heard before. I am on ITunes now doing the down load boogie.

    • Me, too. I still remember the first time I heard “Down with the Sickness.” I was sleeping in a car on a trip to Nashville and woke up to David Draimain’s “Oooh-WAH-ahaha!” on the radio.

  3. Stephen says:

    I’m partial at the moment to The Heavy’s Sixteen. Evocative. It’s Tom Waitsey.

  4. MishaBurnett says:

    I’m not usually a big fan of covers of classic songs, but I honestly believe this version is better than the original . (And it’s Catskinner’s theme song.)

  5. Maggie says:

    I love Disturbed — not so much “Down with the Sickness” — but they are an awesome band. So is Skillet. Great songs!

  6. James Ramsey says:

    I was doing some surfing of my own and I think I am the last person on the face of the earth to discover Radioactive by Imagine Dragons

    I don’t know what it is about this song or this video but it has completely captured my imagination.

    • I LOVE “Radioactive”! The only reason I didn’t include it here was because I’ve linked it before. 🙂

      The song really strikes me as being the perfect theme for a fantasy character who’s faced with conflict, their old way of life and seeing themselves changes (“I’m breaking up/ I feel it in my bones”), and has to transform, come into their power (“Welcome to the new age” and “It’s a revolution, I suppose”), and then beat the bad guys down (“This is it, the apocalypse”.)

      That’s my take on it anyway. I hear this song and I see so many protagonists. I think that’s why it gets me every freaking time.

Leave a Reply

Click to have the chaos sent right to your email!

Join 399 other followers

Ninja Squirrel Chasers!

I'm a sub-red magic drafter!

Take the quiz at Brent Weeks.com

