“Real” Warrior Women!

17

June 4, 2013 by Kira Lyn Blue

You may or may not have noticed all the hubub over the recent cover of the SFWA published The Bulletin which depicted a loincloth and bra-clad “warrior woman” in a snow scape.

Now, I’m not fundamentally opposed to depictions of warrior women in skimpy armor. I am violently opposed to the justifications for the cover that Resnick and Malzberg provided when confronted with opposition to the cover. They failed to recognize a call for change and and stomped all over dissenting opinions, only succeeding in proving they’re sexist assholes.  (Incidentally, John Scalzi the SFWA President recently posted this apology on the issue.)

That doesn’t mean I can’t appreciate provocatively cut armor. For those of you who don’t know, I play World of Warcraft and I have redressed my characters in what are sometimes called “armorkinis” just because I can.

Allow me to introduce, Lunemental, my Pandaren restoration shaman in her vibrant gear:

My Shaman

You may not be able to tell, but the silly pose is because she’s dancing. Because her top, while showing some serious panda cleavage is sooooo much better than what her actual gear looks like:

My Shaman 2

BA-CAWK! I’m a friggin’ chicken!

Oh, but lest we let the Pandaren have all the fun, my Death Knight has an even better get up. Presenting Pipskweek!

pippy 1Yep, that’s a gnome in a plate armor bikini. I totally did it just to freak out my raiding buddies. If this isn’t an argument for how ludicrous armorkinis are, I don’t know what is. Be glad I decided against including a picture of the rear view of this ensemble.

And here we have the Pipster in traditional Death Knight Garb.

pippy 2

Now, that’s a gnome you wouldn’t want to meet in a dark alley!

17 thoughts on ““Real” Warrior Women!

  1. OMG. I can’t believe you play WoW. That game has ruined my life, messed with my biorhythm—I used to play on the Australian server when I was living in the UK—and… given me great FUN. I can’t say I miss it, but if nothing else mattered, I would definitely play again.

    And yes, the gear some people have on their characters is tasteless.

    • Yeah, WoW can have a way of dominating your life. Fortunately writing and blogging has become my obsession these days and WoW is just to hang out with my guildies.

  2. What? These aren’t squirrels? 🙂

  3. Erica Dakin says:

    OMG you’re Alliance! I’m not sure I can like you anymore now… For the Horde!

    All joking aside, I’ve only seen snippets of this latest brouhaha, so I can’t really offer any comment.

    • Erica Dakin says:

      Nowait, I’m doubting now… are gnomes horde or alliance? I stopped playing more than a year ago, and I can’t even remember….

    • Erica Dakin says:

      Okay, I’ll let you off. Have now also caught up with the whole thing, and while I personally have no real issues with bikini-clad warrior women in the snow (beyond a generic ‘yeah right, that’s real practical’), the misogynist ramblings of those two blokes does make me want to smack their heads together repeatedly.

  4. Len says:

    Long live the gnomes.

  5. hopecook says:

    I hadn’t heard about this yet, but just went and checked it out a bit…that is one seriously retro cover, and not really in a good way. Definitely seems like gender issues are becoming a boiling point in SF. Have you heard about the Ann Aguirre thing? I couldn’t believe the kind of crap she is having to deal with.
    http://www.annaguirre.com/archives/2013/06/02/this-week-in-sf/

    • Wow, just wow. It’s amazing how horribly people can behave when they feel threatened, or when the status quo they represent feels threatened. On the plus side, the fact that these issues are hitting the boiling point is a good thing. It means change is on the horizon, we just have to keep the heat on.

      • hopecook says:

        Absolutely…I really think we are seeing a boiling point. *stokes a really big fire*

  6. phaerygurl says:

    That’s so awesome! I especially love the squirrel, it’s so steampunk! I actually refuse to play WoW because I’ve heard how addicting it can be, and I do not have the time (and I think my computer was esplode 😛

  7. Hunter says:

    I have no idea what most of these comments are on about,as I’m not a WOW player (or squirrel lover), but I just wanted to say – I seriously like your panda warrior. Lust at first sight.

Leave a Reply

Click to have the chaos sent right to your email!

Join 399 other followers

Ninja Squirrel Chasers!

I'm a sub-red magic drafter!

Take the quiz at Brent Weeks.com

