Twitterpated Squirrel’s Top Ten Alpha Males

5

May 17, 2013 by Kira Lyn Blue

The female ninja squirrels are chattering like a bunch of twitterpated nincompoops because today is Testosterone Fest on kiralynblue.com!

(Meanwhile, the boys sulk in a corner with a case of Nut Brown Ale plotting the deaths of the characters we’re about to discuss.)

As promised, today’s post is all about the Alpha Male. The squirrels and I are a bit tired of seeing posers passed off as so-called Alphas and we’re here to set the record straight about what makes an Alpha Male.

Before we get to the list, we should probably define the Alpha archetype and I’m going to do it in one word:

Confidence.

Source: wehearit.com

You can find a more detailed definition in my post The Alpha Problem, but what it really boils down to is confidence. The Alpha Male is self-assured and decisive in all scenarios because he is confident in himself. He has nothing to prove.

This doesn’t mean he doesn’t have doubts, but he does not allow himself to be hamstrung by them. 

Another much more detailed character profile of the Alpha Male: http://mirriamsmyth.wordpress.com/resources/the-ultimate-alpha-male/

And without further ado, behold…

The Twitterpated Squirrel’s List of Alpha Males (in ascending testosterone order):

Jenks actually has blond hair, but yo get the idea. Source: Vanesse on Deviantart.com

Jenks actually has blond hair, but yo get the idea.
Source: Vanesse on Deviantart.com

10. Jenks

Book(s): the Rachel Morgan Series by Kim Harrison

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Race: Pixy

How He’s an Alpha: I include Jenks here because it’s tough to be an Alpha Male when you’re only a few inches tall. While Jenks isn’t your stereotypical silent but deadly, man’s man, he’s an Alpha in the ways that count. He’s loyal to his business partners, wields a tiny sword with deadly efficiency, and is fiercely protective of his wife and his enormous brood of child warriors.

Jenks proves that a man can be an Alpha without necessarily being “in charge” and that love and tenderness are not weaknesses.

He’s also funny as all holy hell. You should hear his rendition of the Twelve Days of Christmas.

“You think my kids just popped out of the ground?”Kim Harrison, Dead Witch Walking

“I could sit and watch nature documentaries with Jenks and the kids the rest of the night if I wanted. And trust me, watching a dozen pixies scream as a crocodile chomped on a zebra was something not to be missed. They invariably cheered for the crocodile, not the zebra.”Kim Harrison, A Perfect Blood

John Pritkin

Source: karenchance.com

9. John Pritkin

Book(s): The Cassie Palmer series by Karen Chance

Genre: Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance

Race: Mage*

How He’s an Alpha: John Pritkin is a badass war mage, demon hunter, and bodyguard of Cassie, the main character of the series. Pritkin is a man who doesn’t care what others think and does what he believes is right and damn the consequences. He’s rude and demanding, but also loyal and self-sacrificing.

“Not really hungry.”

“She’ll eat.” Pritkin said curtly.

“I said —”

“If you starve to death it would damage my professional reputation.”

“I eat plenty.”

“The same does not apply should I strangle you in understandable irritation, however.”

“I’ll have a sandwich,” I told Nick. “No meat.”

Karen Chance, Embrace the Night

“He shook me, and despite it being one-handed, it made my teeth rattle. “If anything like that ever happens again. You. Leave. Me. Behind. Do you understand?”

I would have argued, but I was feeling a little shocky for some reason. “I’m not good at abandoning people,” I finally said.

A front-desk person scurried over, first-aid kit in hand, but Pritkin snarled at the poor guy and he quickly backed up a step. “Then get good at it!”

He stomped off, limping, one shoulder hanging at an odd angle. “You’re welcome,” I murmured.”― Karen Chance, Embrace the Night

*Chance fans know why the asterisk is there.

Source: karenchance.com

8. Mircea Basarab

Book(s): The Cassie Palmer series by Karen Chance (Yes, another one. Deal with it.) and the Dorina Basarab series

Genre: Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance

Race: Vampire

How He’s an Alpha: Mircea (pronounced meer-cha) is a powerful member of the vampire Senate and their chief negotiator. He’s sneaky, manipulative, controlling, and his long-term political savvy is impressive if not as ruthless as, say, Frank Underwood’s (House of Cards). He is a warrior, a strategist, and a tactician in the boardroom and in the bedroom. While I sometimes find his high-handedness irritating, I’m fairly convinced he has the best interests of those under his protection at heart. I think…

“Thank you, Captain Obvious.”

“I’m on the Senate,” he reminded me. “It’s Lord Obvious.”― Karen Chance, Fury’s Kiss

7. Mark Jones

Book(s): Sustainable Earth series by Jack J. Lee

Genre: Zombie Apocalypse, Satire

Race: Human

How He’s an Alpha: Even before the apocalypse, Mark Jones has his own bat cave. He’s a narcissistic millionaire playboy who only realizes how self-absorbed he is when zombies are on his front lawn while he’s worried about an upcoming 100 mile race. Mark doesn’t let that get him down, though. He’s a survivor and, before you know it, he’s single-handedly taking out vampires and herds of zombies, rescuing survivors, and installing himself as their leader. Narcissism has it’s advantages. He’s the best man for the job and he knows it.

“I commit fully to any action I take; I don’t worry about messing up, failing or getting hurt. I just get the job done.” – Jack J. Lee, Year of the Dead

“If they harm any of mine, I will destroy them root and branch. I will burn down their homes and sow their fields with salt. Hiram I promise you, I will be the instrument of God’s wrath. I’ll make an example of them that will make every other stinking cult and tin pot dictator think long and hard before they fuck with the Salt Lake Troopers.” – Jack J. Lee, Death by Revelation

6. Charles Cornick

Book(s): the Alpha and Omega Series by Patricia Briggs

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Race: Werewolf

How He’s an Alpha: Charles is the son the Marrok, supreme leader of Werewolves in the United States. He’s also his father’s hatchet man, taking care of any and all problems that require a very permanent ending. Charles typifies the warrior alpha archetype. He leverages his dominance and physical size for intimidation. As an enforcer, he has no friends only acquaintances he might one day have to kill. That doesn’t mean he relishes killing. His dominant status drives him to be extremely protective for lesser wolves and when his mate is threatened, there will be blood. In spite of all that, he’s amazingly sweet and thoughtful where is mate is concerned.

“His brother maintained that what sent people backing away was neither his size nor his mother’s blood, but solely the expression on his face. To test Samuel’s theory, Charles had tried smiling – and then solemnly reported to Samuel that he had been mistaken. When Charles smiled, he told Samuel, people just ran faster.”Patricia Briggs, Fair Game

“And despite… or because of their audience, he caught it in one hand, and pulled the hand to his heart. Her smile dropped away, and the expression in her eyes would feed him for a week. And the expressions on the faces of the wolves who knew Charles, or knew his reputation, would make him laugh as soon as no one was watching.”Patricia Briggs, Hunting Ground

5. Adam White

Book(s): The Morgan Kingsley series by Jenna Black

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Race: Demon

How He’s an Alpha: Police Officer? Check. Enforcer for Demons? Check. Tall, muscular, and handsome? Check. Aggressive, bossy, and demanding? Check. Sexually virile male? Damn straight! Errr, I mean, yeah he’s highly sexual, but he’s not straight. And I dare anyone try and give him shit about his sexual orientation. Then again, he probably wouldn’t care unless his partner was threatened. Then all hell would break loose. Did I mention he has a whip and knows how to use it?

4. Adam Hauptman

Book(s): Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Race: Werewolf

How He’s an Alpha: His dominance is similar to Charles’s in Briggs’s other series, but he’s the Alpha of a Pack and a leader not an enforcer. Fae, Vampire, or Werewolf, if you’re a threat to his mate, his family, or his pack, you’re dead. Hauptman is every bit as controlling and possessive as Charles, but he’s much more manipulative about it. He’s also a father and adorable with his teenage daughter which is an interesting contrast to the more ruthless and violent aspects of his life.

“It’s only fair to warn you that you sealed your fate tonight. When you knew you were in trouble, you came to me. That makes twice, Mercy, and twice is almost as good as a declaration. You are mine now…. Ben says you might run. If you do, I will find you and bring you back. Every time you run, Mercy. I won’t force you, but. .. No more excuses, Mercy. You are mine, and I am keeping you.”Patricia Briggs, Iron Kissed

Source: pink-martini, tumblr

3. Ethan Sullivan

Book(s): Chicagoland Vampires series by Chloe Neill

Genre: Urban Fantasy, Vampire Romance

Race: Vampire

How He’s an Alpha: Oh lord, is this man an arrogant jackass! Much to Merit’s (the MC’s) chagrin, the bastard has the clout to back up his imperiousness. More importantly, he’s not a bad guy. He really does look out for his House (the vampires he rules over), he’s loyal, stubborn, and has a very well-hidden self-sacrificing streak. But, he’s still going to drive you insane. In a good way.

“Irresistible force. Immovable object. Choose the one you want to be, and do it.”Chloe Neill, Biting Cold

“I reject the notion I am capable of doing anything ‘not well’ ~ Ethan”― Chloe Neill, House Rules

Source: hurog.com

2. Curran

Book(s): Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Race: Werelion

How He’s an Alpha: Well, they don’t call him the Beast Lord for nothing. I honestly cannot do this King of the Urban Jungle justice. Go read the books. Do it or I’ll send my squirrels to camp out in your attic.

“I don’t want it to be attributed to a loss of control on my part. When I throw you out of the window, I want there to be no doubt the act was deliberate.”Ilona Andrews, Magic Burns

Curran shrugged and pulled me back to him. ‘You don’t pick the family you’re born into. You pick the one you make. I already chose my mate and glued her ass to the chair to make sure she knew it.”Ilona Andrews, Magic Bleeds

Source: dreamysim1.wordpress.com

Source: dreamysim1.wordpress.com

1. Jericho Barrons

Book(s): Fever series by Karen Marie Moning

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Race: To quote Mackayla Lane, “Whogivesafuck?”

Why He’s an Alpha: Jericho Barrons just IS. On the Alpha Scale Rating of 1-10, he goes to Eleven. To Barrons, you’re either survivor or walking victim.The most powerful beings in existence quake in his presence and even while you’ll be wondering why for many books, you’ll never question it. He’s quite happy to tell you he’s not a hero, he’s a mercenary to the core. And while he’s not above ruthless manipulation and even cold-blooded murder to get what he wants, those rare (and I mean RARE) times he shows his softer side, you will absolutely melt.

Jericho’s character and his relationship with Mackayla Lane are extremely complex. If this were any other book series, he wouldn’t get a mention in this list because only Karen Marie Moning could have crafted the perfect appropriate love interest to truly match him. Any other woman would be his victim.

“Sometimes, Ms. Lane,” he said, “one must break with one’s past to embrace one’s future. It is never an easy thing to do. It is one of the distinguishing characteristics between survivors and victims. Letting go of what was, to survive what is.”Karen Marie Moning, Darkfever

“For what other reason would you have me save you? Because I like you? Better to be useful than liked.”― Karen Marie Moning, Bloodfever

“I’m not the hero, Mac. Never have been. Never will be. Let us be perfectly clear: I’m not the antihero, either, so quit waiting to discover my hidden potential. There’s nothing to redeem me.”― Karen Marie Moning, Shadowfever

There you have it, all my favorite Alpha Males.

Share your comments or Alpha Male nominations below!

5 thoughts on “Twitterpated Squirrel’s Top Ten Alpha Males

  1. Len says:

    I knew I should have written myself into my stories! Haha

  2. Aldrea Alien says:

    I’ve never read any of those books, but I think I could grow to like Jenks. He sounds like my kind of alpha.

    The rest of them … they would be getting the back of my hand. Even though I quite like that second Mark Jones quote and the first Curran quote.

  3. I’m a fan of alpha types of various stripes, so this was interesting. I have a somewhat different definition in my mind, but, since I’ve never heard of any of these books, at least I have a new book or two to pick up. The Jericho Barrons one especially! I love a good “Mister E. Badass.”

    • The Fever series (with Barrons) is a bit different than your average paranormal romance. I actually hated the MC at first, but it was so worth holding out for her development. The series is fun, sexy, horrifying, and a complete roller coaster of emotions. I’m so glad I didn’t discover the series until after it was completed or I would have burned down a city or two after book four.

  4. L. Marie says:

    Wooo. I had to sit down with a cup of coffee and digest this. Glad to see that Curran is toward the top. An excellent assessment. (Aldrea Alien’s back of my hand comment cracked me up though.)

Leave a Reply

Click to have the chaos sent right to your email!

Join 398 other followers

Ninja Squirrel Chasers!

I'm a sub-red magic drafter!

Take the quiz at Brent Weeks.com

