Blomit Time!

27

May 14, 2013 by Kira Lyn Blue

Lately I’ve been having so much fun working on my second book, that I’ve been slacking a bit on blog posts. I’d apologize, but I’m not sorry. When the Muse gets in her zone and the words flow, I’d be an idiot to say, “Whoa, hold up there, chief! We need to blog today!”

And since the Muse is, even now, tugging on my ears and demanding I get back to Toni, I give you:

BLOMIT!

  1. WordPress is weird– I awoke this morning to find that the top search for my blog is “characters off of the squirrel holmes.” Alrighty then.
  2. eski-noCommas in series– One thing that’s been driving me nuts about some of the feedback I’m getting on my manuscript is how many people have said, “Hey Kira, you need to remove the comma before and when you write series.” No. That’s a Grumpy Cat no. I know that more recent schools of thought have writers removing that comma, but I will not give it up until you pry it from my cold, dead fingers. I’m unrepentantly old school on this punctuation point and will happily refer to my 1996 edition of the Little, Brown Handbook to back me up.
  3. My house has a new roof bequeathed to us by Mother Nature’s sending of a nasty hail storm and one very unhappy insurance agent who is apparently having to replace every roof in my neighborhood. Yay for free roofs!
  4. I have a new earworm. It’s an utterly ridiculous song, but it’s fun and catchy and the music video has a grown man in Batman footie pajamas and a Davy Crockett cap. Epic Win! Warning: Video contains language you won’t want your toddler repeating. 

And now I want to hit the thrift stores. Come on squirrels! It’s shopping time!

27 thoughts on “Blomit Time!

  1. katemsparkes says:

    Team Oxford Comma! SERIAL COMMAS 4 LYFE!!!

  2. melissajanda says:

    My 7 year old daughter loves this song. She made up a dance to it. Of course, she has only heard the clean version. She wanted to learn all the lyrics so I googled it and well…let’s just say she won’t be learning THOSE lyrics…lol. Fun song, though.

    • Understandable. I hope her dance is better than mine. The dog just looks at me like I’m insane and I try to avoid doing it when the husband is in the room so he can’t make fun of me.

  3. Dave Higgins says:

    Omitting the serial comma can cause ambiguity whereas inserting one never does.

    If you really want to play safe you can even double punctuate: all the edgy writers do,, it looks stylish,, and the rules of grammar are a tool of oppression anyway.

  4. Erica Dakin says:

    Can I sit on the fence on the comma thing? Sometimes there needs to be one before ‘and’, and then sometimes there doesn’t… (I voted yes though.)

    • Sure you can. I don’t necessarily mind the newer books that omit the commas, but I have to leave them in. I still live in mortal fear of my 10th grade English teacher who was militant about them.

  5. Christopher says:

    I don’t know why you would omit such a useful comma.
    I just got introduced to the whole album from Macklemore and Ryan Lewis. The whole thing is actually pretty great. Not a clean album, but quality nonetheless. Although, it makes me do this thing where I think I’m some kind of wrapper that gives The Wife a nervous tick and causes her to disavow all knowledge of me. Especially in public. Also in private, which is probably a sadder thought.

    • I can only imagine how she’d react to my white girl dance then. I don’t even realize I’m half dancing as I walk through the house with Macklemore stuck in my head. My husband’s been snickering at me all morning.

      • Christopher says:

        I figure as long as you don’t offend anyone’s culture, or any foreign dignitaries, terrible dancing is just one of those things that’s going to happen.
        I don’t realize when I’m sometimes singing along, or in this case rapping along, until I get that sideways look from someone indicating I may have sounded a little off.

  6. Aldrea Alien says:

    I just love that song, even the clean version is catchy. Right up there with Girl in Stilettos.

    We never had the commas before the ‘and’ over here. Ever. I only learnt about the rule when I started cruising critique sites and bumped up against people using it. So I’m on the fence.

    • I was going to link a clean version, but I couldn’t get the actual video with clean lyrics. And then you’d miss the Batman footie pajamas and that would be a shame.

      Some punctuation and spellings are just regional. Take “learnt” from your comment. We’d use “learned” over here. I also have a strange compulsion to use “leapt” instead of “leaped,” which really irritates my spellcheckers even though it is a valid spelling of the word.

  7. GrowlTigger says:

    Finding this post and video just goes to prove the interconnectivity of universe! 😉 A few minutes ago I commented on another blog about a video, saying that a like wasn’t enough we need an awesome button! Then I dropped by Karen Gadient’s blog, read her post about an awesome dream she had. Leaving her a comment, I noticed in her list of recent likes the cat picture in this post. Arriving here to take a look I find an amusing post and a really catchy song that is also fucking awesome! 😀

  8. Blomit! YAY! And seriously that Mackelmore song is on a loop in my head. Has been for days. DAYS…….

    • It just won’t go away, you know? I may have to hit up unhearit.com for an alternative soon. The only problem with that is that the song it chooses could be worse. So, for now I’ll just keep singing about big a$$ coats and popping tags until the Husband begs for mercy.

  9. Commas, commas, and more commas. I could stop that as easily as I could stop breathing. 🙂

  10. The search term log on our blogs is always a great source of humor. I do an annual awards posts for the best search strings. I’ll bet we’ve both got some strange squirrel-related queries….

  11. JP McLean says:

    Comma schmomma – bring me more batman footsie man. The fact you put these two topics together in one post speaks volumes. Bring on the muse!

Leave a Reply

Click to have the chaos sent right to your email!

Join 398 other followers

Ninja Squirrel Chasers!

I'm a sub-red magic drafter!

Take the quiz at Brent Weeks.com

