What’s with the Squirrels?

10

May 8, 2013 by Kira Lyn Blue

Regular followers of this blog may have noticed my unhealthy obsession with squirrels. If you’ve ever wondered where the hell it came from, wonder no more!

Squirrels are squee-riffic:

baby squirrelLet’s face it, squirrels are cute and I’m a sucker for anything cute and furry.

funny-squirrel47478Oliver:

One of the central characters in my current WIP is a sorcerer cursed into squirrel form. (Read more about him here.) He’s my favorite character to write and the little bastard sneaks into my subconscious all the time. So, it’s no surprise he popped into my mind when I first started this blog.

Squirrels are my plot bunnies:

Plot bun- umm, squirrel?

Before I started this blog, I had never heard the term plot bunnies. I had my own version: plot squirrels. Now, there is a difference between plot bunnies and plot squirrels. Plot bunnies dig in and gnaw at your mind. Plot squirrels attack like ninjas, bite your ankles, and run off leaving you distracted. I have difficulty focusing on writing any scene because I’m always thinking ahead to a thousand other plot points. Or, worse, I’ll end up writing extraneous details into a scene just because I got barnstormed by a squirrely idea and have to write it down Right Now!

Squirrels keep me from being too serious.

Source: memegenerator.net

Rocky the Flying Squirrel.

‘Nuff said.

10 thoughts on “What’s with the Squirrels?

  1. Gotta love those nutty squirrels. My personal favorite is the squirrely guy (don’t know “what” it is) from Ice Age. My obsession is monkeys, though. 🙂

  2. […] What’s with the Squirrels? (kiralynblue.com) […]

  3. *snerk* I like your explanation of the difference between plot bunnies and plot squirrels for you. I always heard and thought about plot bunnies as rapidly reproducing masters of the coordinated pile-on attack, like if the Beast in Monty Python and the Search for the Holy Grail had a hundred kids, all staring at me with beady eyes. OH NO, THE BUNNIES HAVE SEEN US! RUN!

  4. Nothing is as awesome as a ninja squirrel. Nothing.

  5. Having an unhealthy squirrel obsession is never a bad thing! The little guys are irresistible…

  6. I couldn’t agree more 🙂

Leave a Reply

Click to have the chaos sent right to your email!

Join 398 other followers

Ninja Squirrel Chasers!

I'm a sub-red magic drafter!

Take the quiz at Brent Weeks.com

