Things I Learned This Week 5/3/2013

4

May 3, 2013 by Kira Lyn Blue

“Education is a progressive discovery of our own ignorance.” – Will Durant

The Joy of Featured Images

When I switched to this theme a couple of weeks ago, one thing I didn’t like about it was that no images from my posts showed up on my front page. So, it looked kind of dull. I finally went digging around in the post editor and found a setting waaaaaay down in the right hand corner. Keep scrolling past Recommendations and Related Articles and you will eventually find Set Featured Image. This allows me to choose the image that will show up on the front page with the article blurb.

featured img

And there was much rejoicing.

Happy SquirrelPeople Prefer Squirrels

It’s true, people prefer squirrels to present tense, 3rd person POV.  I have a highly scientific poll with 8 whole votes to prove it!

Ok, you caught me. I’m spinning the results. See the real story here.

Writing a Book Review is Challenging

I made a commitment earlier this month to post at least one review of a self-published book a month. I had to force myself to get it up on 4/30, and this was for a book I loved.  I procrastinated because I was intimidated.

It’s intimidating to say what you think about a novel, especially when you know the author is going to read it. I’m not unfamiliar with this feeling since I play critique partner for several authors, but it’s different when what you’re saying will be posted for all of the interwebs to read and not just as private feedback.

Even more difficult was finding ways to summarize the book that didn’t come off as straight rip-offs from the official summary. I had to scrap my initial summary because I my subconscious poured out the official summary almost word for word even though it had been a month since I read it.

The most difficult part was writing the review with no spoilers.  

So, I have new-found respect for all the book-reviewers out there. If anyone has the gall to tell you that all you do is spout opinion, let me know and I’ll send a squad of ninja squirrels to their domicile to show them the error of their ways.

Source: Cheezburger.com

Kira + Yard Work = Pain

People who normally spend 12+ hours a day attached to a computer should not attempt marathon yard-work sessions. See: aching muscles and sunburn.

4 thoughts on “Things I Learned This Week 5/3/2013

  1. Aldrea Alien says:

    I cannot believe other people chose ‘Squirrels!’ Okay … yes I can. ^_^

    That dog is so cute and I agree on the yard work.

    • If that survey was on someone else’s bog, I would have chosen squirrels no matter what the other choices were 🙂

      That is a cute pup, but not mine. My poor puppy is allergic to grass and he’d be in hives for weeks if I covered him in grass clippings like that.

  2. Well, I thought your book review was just awesome, so no worries 😀 I get the same way when I write book reviews. I’m like … this sounds so amateurish, like I’m writing a grade 5 book report. That’s why I’m actually relieved when I find sites where they only accept star reviews, with no text to back it up — huzzah! No need to try and articulate my love for something in two-three paragraphs!!!

Leave a Reply

Click to have the chaos sent right to your email!

Join 399 other followers

Ninja Squirrel Chasers!

I'm a sub-red magic drafter!

Take the quiz at Brent Weeks.com

