Segregated Proms Still Exist?

5

April 29, 2013 by Kira Lyn Blue

Now, I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not always up on current events. So, when I spotted a certain headline last night, it took me a long time to realize that I was not being pranked by The Onion.

Wilcox County High School Students Hold First Integrated Prom

In this ABC News article, I learned that there are still rural schools that hold racially segregated proms. Actually, let me clarify that. The schools are not holding the proms, the segregated proms have been privately held, invitation only events since 1971.

This is 2013, right? Right??? This can’t be real!

No. It’s real. It’s on the New York Times, too. And jezebel.com, and gawker.com, and USA TODAY.

You know, I did not intend my blog to be a place to discuss social issues, but this is just… I can’t speak because I feel nauseous at having discovered just how deep racial prejudice still runs in this nation. So, I post this today in hopes of raising awareness.

On the positive side of things, look at what these students have accomplished! They went against small town tradition and used a campaign on Facebook to raise money so they could hold their own integrated prom outside of the segregated one (that was still held.)

To the students of WCHS in Rochelle, GA, congratulations on making your integrated prom happen!

5 thoughts on “Segregated Proms Still Exist?

  1. katemsparkes says:

    Wow. You know, stories like that give me such mixed feelings, and I had a similar experience reading one this morning about the first child bride in India to get her marriage annulled. On one hand, I want to celebrate these victories, because progress toward equality, respect, and human rights is a victory for everyone, and I’m happy for these people. On the other, though, it breaks my heart to know that people still have to fight against these things, that rights still aren’t automatically respected and that there are still things like racial segregation and one-year-olds being married off by their parents.

    Progress is a victory, but we still have so far to go.

  2. cptam1947 says:

    I swear some of those places have family trees that breaks like a straw. It is intolerable in this century to harbor such views let alone practice them in the light of day.

Leave a Reply

Click to have the chaos sent right to your email!

Join 399 other followers

Ninja Squirrel Chasers!

I'm a sub-red magic drafter!

Take the quiz at Brent Weeks.com

