The Muse’s Current Diet: Entertainment Reviews

4

April 22, 2013 by Kira Lyn Blue

I’m pretty much on a feed the Muse kick these days since my book is out in the hands of critiquers and I’m waiting for feedback before getting too crazy with revisions, soooo let’s talk about what the Muse is gorging on!

Catskinner’s Book by Misha Burnett: Rating 4.5/5 Caffeinated Ninja Squirrels.

Urban Fantasy and Sci-Fi readers, if you haven’t snapped up Burnett’s book yet, it’s time to get cracking! It’s a very engaging and quick read that I gobbled up in one sitting. It’s not often writers come up with entirely new monsters and cosmologies and they work so well. Burnett also surprised me, in a very good way, with the depth of his characters and his challenge of stereotypes. My only complaint was that it ended and now I have to wait for the sequel. Waiting is not my forte. Neither is eloquence, so check out Dave Higgins’s review for a much more nuanced review that says it better than I could. Then get reading!

Hemlock Grove on Netflix: Rating 2.5/5 Annoyed Ninja Squirrels.

I finished the entire series already. Since it was released only a few of days ago, you’d think that would mean the series rocks. Well, I was entertained, which is why it gets 2.5 squirrels, but it ultimately felt lacking. I kept hoping they’d tie everything together at the end, and was very disappointed. The show tried to do too much, with too many characters, and harped on its theme way too obviously without ever having the main characters actually deal with it. What we ended up with was just a bizarre mashup of horror tropes that felt bonded together with duct tape. While it has potential and some very good moments, if your TV viewing time is limited, look elsewhere. Try House of Cards instead maybe?

hemlock-grove-famke-janssen_article_story_main

Famke Janssen as Olivia on Hemlock Grove. Anyone else feeling shades of Madame Bovary?

Defiance (the TV show): 3.5/5 Curious Ninja Squirrels.

Syfy‘s latest next big thing premiered last week in conjunction with the MMO of the same name. It’s basically a post-apocalyptic western with aliens. Since I am also playing the game, my initial impression of the show may be a bit biased. I already know some of the characters and like them. They did a nice job of working in a couple of comments by said characters in an early scene that pay homage to missions players would have completed without really leaving people who aren’t playing the game out of the loop.

“Do you have any idea what I had to go through to get that?” Why yes, Nolan. As a matter of fact I do, you tricksy jerk!

Josh Nolan from Defiance.

Now, Defiance is certainly no Firefly, but I do think it has entertainment potential. It’s a little cheesy and there are a couple of alien costumes that make me cringe, but it was mostly fun to watch. The second episode airs tonight, so we’ll see if it picks up steam from the premier or flounders.

Busy Squirrel’s Verdict: Skip TV and go read a book. See item number one.

4 thoughts on “The Muse’s Current Diet: Entertainment Reviews

  1. Dave Higgins says:

    Eloquent, eh? Nuanced?

    Thank you for adding to the joy of this Monday.

    • Well, it is in comparison to the gal who uses ninja squirrels as a rating system. 😉

      I thought you did such a great job at saying what I wanted to say about the book that I had to link your review. Besides, poor Catskinner got lumped in with my muse’s junkfood and your review lends credibility to my opinion of the novel. So, you’re welcome!

  2. Len says:

    SyFy shows, in general, make me cringe. Only one I could watch was Face-Off.

Leave a Reply

Click to have the chaos sent right to your email!

Join 399 other followers

Ninja Squirrel Chasers!

I'm a sub-red magic drafter!

Take the quiz at Brent Weeks.com

