True Stories of Writing Horrors!

5

April 19, 2013 by Kira Lyn Blue

misc-true-story-realistic-l2So, I have learned that if one chooses to write a novel that frequently invokes Murphy’s Law that Murphy will come and get you. In the last two weeks:

1) We got hit by a hailstorm that rained down golf-ball sized hail for several minutes. I think we’re gonna need a new roof.

2) The last week has been non-stop interruptions as storm chasing handymen are constantly canvassing our neighborhood trying to get a piece of the insurance-funded roof-repair pie.

3) Lightning hit the transformer behind our house a couple of nights ago and the resulting surge killed my desktop PC AND the circuit board in our furnace.

Now, which of these events has me freaked out the most? That’s right, the comatose state of my desktop PC.

My first thought when I couldn’t get my computer to power up was: “Oh noes! My manuscript!” I went into a panicked frenzy. This couldn’t be happening again!

A few years back when I made my first attempt at writing a novel, my laptop was stolen. My laptop that had ALL of the files for the novel. It was infuriating and heart-breaking. But, I learned my lesson: Backups are a writer’s best friend! So, this time when my computer died I still have all of my work.

Do you keep backups of your work?

I actually do all my writing in Google Drive. This isn’t a plug for it; it’s got some distinct limitations as compared to both MS Word and Open Office, but I like how I just do the writing and my stuff is automatically saved off to some cloud that is safe from any catastrophes that may happen in my household. I do still keep backups on both my desktop and laptop, but that’s just because I’m paranoid.

I’m probably a little overboard on this preparedness thing, but I’ve been burnt and I don’t want it to happen again. So, use these true tales as a caution and think about how you backup and protect your work so you won’t lose it to that villainous cad Murphy.

Oh, what happened to the roof, desktop, and furnace? Have an appointment soon with a reputable roofing company who doesn’t need to canvass for business, the 9-year-old furnace got replaced because it wasn’t worth paying to repair it, and I’m hoping the new power supply I ordered will fix my desktop.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “True Stories of Writing Horrors!

  1. LindaGHill says:

    I email myself everything on a regular basis… as well as keeping everything on the laptop(s), pc, and two USBs. Paranoia comes with the territory I think 😛

  2. Christopher says:

    It only takes one major catastrophe to get you super edgy. When working on major art projects I typically have about 10-15 copies saved in various states of progress. One time I lost my whole project when a file got corrupted. So now every project takes up about 6 times the space it should because of all my extra copies.

  3. Aldrea Alien says:

    Wow. Thank goodness for backups. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

Click to have the chaos sent right to your email!

Join 398 other followers

Ninja Squirrel Chasers!

I'm a sub-red magic drafter!

Take the quiz at Brent Weeks.com

