And the Winner is…

5

April 12, 2013 by Kira Lyn Blue

drumrollplzAnd now for the results of the Nickname My Character Contest!

Actually, we have two: Reader’s Choice and Writer’s Choice, because I’m apparently contrary by nature and decided you’re all wrong. I’m kidding! The suggestions of BOTH winners will go in the book.

The Reader’s Choice Award goes to Glitch, the nickname suggested by Misha Burnett.

Glitch stomped the competition on Super Survey Sunday and also won The Husband’s vote! I love the suggestion of Glitch for my accident prone little chaos class sorceress, but I’ve decided that it will be Oliver (see his blog post here) calling Jac by this nickname. I think it’s much more fitting with the personality I’ve developed for him and I am considering having other characters pick up on the trend later.

The Writer’s Choice Award goes to Cat, the nickname suggested by Michelle Proulx.

Levi “V” Cooper would probably be a bit more subtle about his nickname for his roomie for reasons I am not currently at liberty to discuss. So, I think he would go with Cat because it seems so innocuous, but in his mind conveys images of catastrophes, black cats, and the idea that Jac must have nine lives to still be breathing given the trouble she manages to get into. I am sooo looking forward to writing the scene where Jac figures out the real connotations behind the nickname 🙂

squirrel_oscarSo, congratulations Misha and Michelle! I don’t have much to offer, but the resident rodents managed to scrounge up a little something for you until I actually have a completed novel in which you can be properly acknowledged for your awesomeness.

Thank you to everyone who offered suggestions on nicknames for Jac. I cannot tell you how much I appreciate your involvement and how much fun it was to have a little creative interaction with other writers. You all rock!

5 thoughts on “And the Winner is…

  1. MishaBurnett says:

    I did realize after I made the suggestion that one of the characters in “Wreck-It Ralph” is called “a glitch” but it’s not really her nickname, it’s more of a slur on the type of creature she is.

  2. Man, if Misha and I were to open a nickname store, we’d be unstoppable. Of course, we’d also go out of business in about a week, because nobody buys nicknames. Ah well.

    Yay! I’m glad you liked one of the seventeen dozen nicknames I bombarded you with, lol. Sorry about that 😀 But evidently it all worked out! I shall cherish the squirrel picture forever and ever, and I’m definitely looking forward to reading the book. Keep us posted 😀

Leave a Reply

Click to have the chaos sent right to your email!

Join 398 other followers

Ninja Squirrel Chasers!

I'm a sub-red magic drafter!

Take the quiz at Brent Weeks.com

