In the Trenches: Today’s Weapon for Shattering Writer’s Block

5

April 5, 2013 by Kira Lyn Blue

Writer rage. It isn’t pretty.

I’ve spent the last few days agonizing over my prologue. You wouldn’t think two pages of text could be so problematic. I mean, its TWO pages. A mere thousand words out of a 150k novel! And yet I rewrote, revised, scrapped, ranted and raved, and started over so many times that I thought my eyes would bleed and was ready to shove my laptop into a garbage disposal.

Feeling defeated, I sat down and watched a video my critique partner had sent me days earlier. Why I procrastinated probably doesn’t matter, but I hate video links. I prefer to read because I can get through content faster than anyone on a video can talk. I saw a 19 minute video and told myself, “Later. I’ll look at it later.”

Now I’m kicking myself for being a stubborn nincompoop. This video didn’t contain anything I didn’t theoretically know about writing, but for some reason it made things click very clearly in my mind. Suddenly, I could see everything that was wrong with my previous approaches to the prologue and knew how to make it work.

(Oh, hey! Here’s a link to said prologue if you’re curious.)

Thank you, Hope! You saved my bacon (and my laptop)!

Maybe, just maybe, you’ll find the same context and inspiration I did, so I have to share this.

5 thoughts on “In the Trenches: Today’s Weapon for Shattering Writer’s Block

  1. tracycembor says:

    I love, love, love his story about the guy in the bar. Also, his insights about storytelling are pretty spot on too.

    • That joke is also a great example of his “Unifying Theory of 2+2.” I’d heard the joke before, but now it will forever be stuck in my head as a tool for writing 🙂

  2. Great insights here! Thanks for the link! I love adding to my tool belt for writing. 🙂

  3. hopecook says:

    🙂

Leave a Reply

Click to have the chaos sent right to your email!

Join 398 other followers

Ninja Squirrel Chasers!

I'm a sub-red magic drafter!

Take the quiz at Brent Weeks.com

